Read What Our Community of Residents and Families Think of Ambleside Care Home

These reviews are taken directly from the fully independent care home website www.carehome.co.uk

I visit Ambleside approximately 5 times each week and on every occasion, I am welcomed by name and with a friendly smile. The resident I visit has settled in extremely well which I am sure is primarily due to the friendliness and care of all the staff. Nothing is too much trouble. I was invited to lunch, not pre-arranged and it was very appetising as are the tea and cakes every afternoon. It's hard when your loved ones have to go into care but they have made it as easy as possible.

Review relates to June 2018.

How likely would you be to recommend Ambleside Residential Care Home? Extremely Likely

Maggie R, relative of resident
27 June 2018

Deciding that the time had come for Dad to receive specialist care was very hard for the whole family. After looking at several other alternatives we decided that Ambleside was the place for him and for us. From the moment we walked in we felt a warm and welcoming, relaxed, happy atmosphere, together with a light and airy feel; a real “home-from-home”. The garden is always there to look out on cold days and enjoy in warmer weather. All the staff are reassuring, supportive and kind with boundless patience. My dad has settled in well and is very comfortable at Ambleside. It’s an ideal place for him and has given us peace of mind. He loves the activities, the banter, and the food. I cannot recommend this warm and welcoming care home enough. Thank you Ambleside, you are a great team.

Review relates to April 2018.

How likely would you be to recommend Ambleside Residential Care Home? Extremely Likely

Dawn Daughter, of resident
1 May 2018

Always a warm welcome from staff and the offer of a hot drink on each visit. Good atmosphere between residents, staff and relatives. Mum and son are very happy with the care home and we would recommend it to others. We have not seen any activities first hand but are aware they happen. This has been mainly due to work commitments.

Review relates to March 2018.

How likely would you be to recommend Ambleside Residential Care Home? Extremely Likely

Jeff H, son of resident
1 May 2018

My husband is profoundly disabled and Ambleside have been most accommodating to his needs and the staff are lovely. If you have a problem, you tell them about it and they deal with it straight away. I was really worried my husband would not settle and I have serious health problems myself, so to see him settled has relaxed my mind a bit and he is allowed to go out. The staff and manager are very good at what they do, and this is why they have a very good review. My husband has had an electric wheelchair but it would not fit through his room but they are willing to move him so that it does, as it will give him more independence. The owner is also a very nice chap and very understanding. I could not praise the staff highly enough, always have time to talk to you. I was worried about my husband not eating properly but the Chef told me that she had checked his eating log and he is eating well, losing weight also and he looks so well.

Review relates to March 2018.

How likely would you be to recommend Ambleside Residential Care Home? Extremely Likely

Norah T, resident / service user
3 April 2018

My Aunt is being looked after very well at Ambleside, there are always activities for the Residents and photos on the Blog are greatly appreciated when you can't get there for a visit. The Staff are very friendly and extremely helpful and don't mind if you just turn up for a visit.

Review relates to March 2018.

How likely would you be to recommend Ambleside Residential Care Home? Extremely Likely

Irene M, niece of resident
21 March 2018

We try and come and see my sister once a month. It is a long journey from Ramsgate, Kent. She's always very pleased to see us. We do feel it's such a shame she doesn't mix more but that is not the fault of the staff. The staff are always very pleasant and make you very welcome.

Review relates to November 2017.

How likely would you be to recommend Ambleside Residential Care Home? Extremely Likely

John D, sister of resident
1 December 2017

The staff are fantastic. They work extremely hard and are very friendly. The atmosphere is homely and there is always a cup of tea on offer! However, I feel the main lounge needs redecorating and the carpet cleaned or better still replaced. There is no need for it to be tatty. The resident's rooms are fine and are clean most times.

Review relates to October 2017.

How likely would you be to recommend Ambleside Residential Care Home? Extremely Likely

Darren K, son of resident
27 October 2017

Friendly helpful staff, homely atmosphere, decent sized rooms but would prefer it to be ensuite instead of a commode.

Review relates to October 2017.

How likely would you be to recommend Ambleside Residential Care Home? Extremely Likely

M T, son-in-law of resident
18 October 2017

Dad has recently moved into Ambleside Residential Care Home and he has settled in so well. His room is amazing with a sea view. The staff have been wonderful making him and us feel so at home. The lounge and garden are lovely and residents are encouraged to eat together at the dining tables. We left dad the other day surrounded by new friends and playing a game of indoor bowling. We are so pleased we were able to move him to Ambleside Residential Care Home.

Review relates to October 2017.

How likely would you be to recommend Ambleside Residential Care Home? Extremely Likely

Wendy M, daughter of resident
16 October 2017

This is a very comfortable and peaceful nursing home. A real home from home as far as is possible. The staff are very hardworking and caring. They try to address issues that come up in the best way possible. They take an individual approach to residents.

Review relates to August 2017.

How likely would you be to recommend Ambleside Residential Care Home? Extremely Likely

Brenda L, resident / service user
23 August 2017

All recommendations have been submitted through the independent website www.CareHome.co.uk and are subject to the carehome.co.uk terms and conditions.



Here are some additional testimonials taken from cards and comments sent to us directly from friends and families of our residents


Excellent staff, friendly caring, they look after my nan and grandad like their own family. They ring me if concerned, they let us know any problems immediately. Food is fantastic and my grandparents are very happy here. They said lucky to find such a lovely care home.
Tina Wapples (Granddaughter of resident)

The staff make you feel that they will go that extra, to make your resident feel that they care for that person of that family. Be there to chat with them at all times making them feel that they are not forgotten by their families and informing the family all the time what is going on in their everyday needs. This care home has got my support in what they do for residents.
Audrey & Terence E (Son + daughter in law to resident)

We chose Ambleside over five other homes visited. We liked the light airy bedrooms the bright open plan lounge with a small lounge for quiet times or visitors. The staff were pleasant and welcoming there was no major odour around the rooms. We felt Dad would fit in with this environment. We liked the idea of pictures on the doors to help residents identify their own room.
Dilys I (Daughter)

My late Nan was a resident at Ambleside for nearly 10 years, sadly she recently passed away, it was difficult for us to be with her every day as we live in London, however we felt safe in the knowledge that the staff would and did their very best for her, we couldn’t have wished for her to be in a better place, surrounded by people she loved, and who loved her. Can’t recommend this home enough, caring friendly staff always made us feel welcome and took fantastic care of my Nan. Thank you.
Lynne Gillingham (Granddaughter of resident)

I would recommend the home because the staff genuinely care about the residents, they keep you informed if as with my mother if she was unwell or the doctor had been called. Sadly my mother recently passed away but during the last few days of her life the staff were kind and caring, they looked after her very well and were there for us to talk to as well.
Catherine B (Daughter)

A very friendly place, very clean. The staff have always got time for you. They treat my dad with respect, always clean and well fed. They made his room homely. Very lucky to find a home that treats dementia people with love and dignity. We are very happy with everything.
Elaine Abbott (Daughter of resident)

A very friendly and homely place, it is so cosy and homely. They provide entertainment, activities for residents. Play games and do activities such as play games, draw, craft. My dad often has pictures etc to give us. We are made very welcome, even the dog can visit as my dad loves dogs
Jill W (Daughter of resident)

I hope my husband can continue to stay at Ambleside for as long as needed.
Maureen H (Wife of Resident)

Care home very good. They really look after the people in the home.
William B (Brother of sister)

Staff always friendly and seem very caring.
Will W (Son of resident)

Its first class all the staff are really kind.
Joan L (Resident)

My husband is being well cared for in the above home.
Shirley D (Wife of resident)

 

Click here for more information on residential care

Request A Brochure